Giotto’s painting
scrovegni dettaglio 1
scrovegni dettaglio 2
scrovegni dettaglio 3

The Scrovegni Chapel

The Scrovegni Chapel is one of the greatest monuments of figurative art of all time,
which contains, entirely preserved, the most complete cycle of frescoes by Giotto,
painted by the Tuscan master in the first years of the 14th century (1303-1305).

The stories of the Virgin Mary and Jesus develop on the walls of the small chapel and end with the impressive fresco of the Last Judgement.

While the previous artists conceived their "flat" figures, Giotto’s painting’s conveyed a sense of space, and the characters of the Bible
and Gospels started gaining volume
and depth.

The thirty-eight episodes tell the story of Mary and then of Christ. If you want to patiently see them in order, start from the lunette
at the bottom, where Joachim is chased out of the temple because he still has no children, and follow the top right-hand row towards the entrance.

At this point move on to the episode on the
opposite wall, exactly in front and at the same height, and return towards the apse.

Whenever you reach the end of a row, move on to the episode on the opposite side, and when you finish a line, move on to the one below.

You will be in the apse again, feeling richer than when you went in.